At the advanced age of 31 I discovered a new fruit!

I didn’t expect to find a surprise in my fruit salad.

A dragon fruit sliced in half

I had ordered a plate at the Vientiane airport in Laos, more out of boredom than hunger because we had some time to kill before our flight. I was prepared to peck aimlessly at assorted pieces of apples, bananas and oranges before boarding the plane.

So when the plate arrived, I went a little wide-eyed with wonder at the eye-catching, dramatic and frankly very chic fruit in front of me on the plate. At the advanced age of 31, I had discovered a new fruit!

In texture the dragon fruit is a bit like a watermelon and in taste it’s a bit like a watermelon without the sugar and much less juicy. But in looks, it is unrivalled.

Shocking pink skin, white flesh and neat little black seeds. Seriously, show me something that looks more arresting in the world of fruits and vegetables and I will give up banoffee pies today.

This entry was posted in Food, Laos and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to At the advanced age of 31 I discovered a new fruit!

  1. anuradha says:

    And its called “dragon fruit” wow !

  2. Mathew says:

    Your write-up is really interesting of a fruit. Especially those words “I was prepared to peck aimlessly at assorted pieces of apples, bananas and oranges before boarding the plane.

    So when the plate arrived, I went a little wide-eyed with wonder at the eye-catching, dramatic and frankly very chic fruit in front of me on the plate.

Leave a Reply

