Who messed with the God of love?

The Eros statue in Piccadilly Circus by Alfred Gilbert. It is said to be the first statue in the world to be cast in aluminium.

I was standing under the famous statue of Eros, the Greek God of love, in Piccadilly Circus two weeks ago waiting for a relative. The place is swarming with tourists who gather in large circles around pubescent boys jumping over each other while others photograph Eros from all sides.

I turned my gaze upwards to look at the statue since I’ve never actually stood there to admire it. Only after a few seconds of staring at it did I realise that poor Eros’s bow is badly twisted! And the string of the bow, which you can’t see very well because I took this picture on my phone, dangles limply on the side. I don’t know who maintains the statue but can Eros please have his bow fixed?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

